What is the difference between 3DMark (new) & 3DMark 11?

  • 1
  • Question
  • Updated 3 years ago
  • Answered
What is the difference between 3DMark (new) & 3DMark 11?
Photo of Joe Soap

Joe Soap

  • 1 Post
  • 0 Reply Likes

Posted 3 years ago

  • 1
Photo of FM_James

FM_James, Community Manager

  • 269 Posts
  • 26 Reply Likes
3DMark 11 is a DirectX 11 benchmark that we released in December 2010.

3DMark (new) is a second generation DirectX 11 benchmark released in February 2013 and is the more modern and demanding of the two. Scores from 3DMark 11 and 3DMark cannot be compared directly.

3DMark includes different benchmark tests, each designed for a different type of hardware. 3DMark Ice Storm is intended for mobile devices, phones and tablets. 3DMark Cloud Gate is for notebooks and typical home PCs. 3DMark Fire Strike is the "full strength" DirectX 11 benchmark test for modern gaming PCs. Fire Strike also has an Extreme setting designed for high-end systems with multiple GPUs.

3DMark 11 rendering resolutions are 720p (default) and 1080p (Extreme).

3DMark Fire Strike uses 1080p (default) and 1440p (Extreme).

While 3DMark 11's Entry preset can still prove useful for testing entry-level hardware, in most cases we now recommend using 3DMark Fire Strike for testing DirectX 11 based Windows systems.

Both benchmarks have a free version that you can download from our website:

It might not be relevant for you, but 3DMark also has the advantage that scores from Ice Storm can be compared across Windows, Windows RT, Android and iOS devices. We just released the Android edition earlier today and the Windows RT and iOS editions will be coming next.